Slick as a Magpie

Hello all! Finally I have finished this piece… I’m sorry for not being so active here, I’ve been a bit busy and back and forth with this as well, so haven’t been able to be present so much.

Jpeg

Slick as a Magpie. Mixed media on paper.

As for this itself, this has been a bit of a chore and a bother to complete. I just couldn’t finish the oil slick effect to my liking, I tried all sorts of different media to emulate the effect… Coloured pencil and ink to name a couple, but it’s far harder than I thought initially… The only way I could possibly create that effect is to spend absolutely ages on this project copying every detail, and that’s just not practical.

In the end, I used acrylic inks, paint pens, and pouring medium to create the oil slick ink blot. I tried to swirl the colours around using the pouring medium and colours to create abstract shimmery effects, but that didn’t work… In the end, I tried to draw swirling patterns with paint pens. Unfortunately, that makes the end result look too opaque.

In my opinion, it looks more like a paint splat than an oily sheen, but I’ve had to stop here otherwise I’d spend forever doing this. I’m glad it’s finally done, but disappointed with the outcome. Either way, I hope you all enjoy. Oh, and sorry for the rubbish photo.

Cheers for now. Have a great week ahead!

2 thoughts on “Slick as a Magpie

    • Hello! Thanks so much for your appreciation of my artwork… I really appreciate it!

      The project itself took about 2 weeks on and off, I’m not sure how much collective time I spent on this exactly, but I’d say it was a few hours at the very least.

      Cheers! Best wishes.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

